League Update: Change Our Guardianship Laws

League Supporters,

I want to update everyone on our March 18th community meeting.

Our community meeting speaker was Rana Goodman who runs the Stop Guardian Abuse NV organization.  Rana told us some pretty horrific stories about elderly and disabled Nevadans who were abused by a state-appointed guardian.  You can read more about this organization here: http://www.stopguardianabusenv.org/blog

There are a number of bills currently pending in our legislature to address the myriad problems with guardianship that must pass.   Here is a summary of those bills and information on how to contact legislators.

AB150 Sponsored by Assemblyman Michael Sprinkle

Committee: Commerce and Labor

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/79th2017/Bill/4897/Overview

Please contact the members of the Commerce and Labor Committee:

  1. Put Please Pass AB150 in the Subject line
  2. Provide a brief statement about why AB150 is an important bill to pass
Irene Bustamante Adams – Chair

Irene.BustamanteAdams@asm.state.nv.us

Maggie Carlton – Vice Chair

Maggie.Carlton@asm.state.nv.us

Nelson Araujo

Nelson.Araujo@asm.state.nv.us

Chris Brooks

Chris.Brooks@asm.state.nv.us

Skip Daly

Skip.Daly@asm.state.nv.us

Jason Frierson

Jason.Frierson@asm.state.nv.us

Sandra Jauregui

Sandra.Jauregui@asm.state.nv.us

 

Dina Neal

Dina.Neal@asm.state.nv.us

James Ohrenschall

James.Ohrenschall@asm.state.nv.us

Paul Anderson

Paul.Anderson@asm.state.nv.us

Ira Hansen

Ira.Hansen@asm.state.nv.us

Al Kramer

Al.Kramer@asm.state.nv.us

Jim Marchant

Jim.Marchant@asm.state.nv.us

Jill Tolles

Jill.Tolles@asm.state.nv.us

 

This bill is in Senate Judiciary

SB168 Sponsored by Senator Becky Harris

Committee: Judiciary

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/79th2017/Bill/5013/Overview

For each member of the committee, please write:

  1. Please pass SB168 in the subject line
  2. Write a brief message about why reforming our guardianship laws are important.
Tick Segerblom – Chair

Tick.Segerblom@sen.state.nv.us

Nicole J. Cannizzaro – Vice Chair

Nicole.Cannizzaro@sen.state.nv.us

Aaron D. Ford

Aaron.Ford@sen.state.nv.us

Moises Denis

Moises.Denis@sen.state.nv.us

 

Michael Roberson

Michael.Roberson@sen.state.nv.us

Becky Harris

Becky.Harris@sen.state.nv.us

Don Gustavson

Don.Gustavson@sen.state.nv.us

 

 These bills are in Assembly Judiciary Committee

AB158 Sponsored by Senator Becky Harris.

Committee: Judiciary

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/79th2017/Bill/4996/Overview

AB229 Sponsored by Senator Becky Harris

Committee: Judiciary

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/79th2017/Bill/4996/Overview

AB319 Sponsored by Assemblyman Michael Sprinkle and Senator Becky Harris

Committee: Judiciary

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/79th2017/Bill/5295/Overview

AB130 Sponsored by Assemblyman Michael Sprinkle

Committee: Judiciary

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/79th2017/Bill/4872/Overview

AB254 Sponsored by Assemblymen Steve Yeager and Michael Sprinkle

Committee: Judiciary

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/79th2017/Bill/5137/Overview

For each committee member, please write:

  1. Please pass AB130, AB158, AB229, AB254, AB319 in the subject line.
  2. Write a brief statement on why it is important to reform our guardianship laws.
Steve Yeager – Chair

Steve.Yeager@asm.state.nv.us

James Ohrenschall – Vice Chair

James.Ohrenschall@asm.state.nv.us

Elliot T. Anderson

Elliot.Anderson@asm.state.nv.us

Lesley E. Cohen

Lesley.Cohen@asm.state.nv.us

Ozzie Fumo

Ozzie.Fumo@asm.state.nv.us

Sandra Jauregui

Sandra.Jauregui@asm.state.nv.us

Brittney Miller

Brittney.Miller@asm.state.nv.us

Tyrone Thompson

Tyrone.Thompson@asm.state.nv.us

 

Justin Watkins

Justin.Watkins@asm.state.nv.us

Ira Hansen

Ira.Hansen@asm.state.nv.us

Lisa Krasner

Lisa.Krasner@asm.state.nv.us

Keith Pickard

Keith.Pickard@asm.state.nv.us

Jill Tolles

Jill.Tolles@asm.state.nv.us

Jim Wheeler

Jim.Wheeler@asm.state.nv.us

 

 

Sondra

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s